I’m jazzed up about measuring social impact

November 10, 2008 at 10:22 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

More hope = more blogging. 

Now I have banged around a lot in non profit land and even studied evaluation and measurement for Columbia’s Strategic Communications program, but I have never seen a good approach for the amorphous work of  non profits.   My hero of the week is Jason Saul of Mission Measurement, who I heard speak at NYU Social Entrepreneurship Conference.  Heres a great summary of his remarks.   He has done impossible things, like measure the worldwide social impact of McDonald’s charities.  I would like to follow him around until he lets me join his bandwagon, but for now, I will just try to get his book: Benchmarking for Nonprofits.

I have never heard someone make the case for measurement so clearly.  He drilled down on selling outcomes versus selling activities,  e.g.  If I could sell you kids staying off the street and getting good grades would you buy it?   How much would you pay?  -versus-  “fund my sports program”.    This avoids a response like, we don’t fund sports.    On his website, he even has a free framework for measuring advocacy.  Thrilling.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Emily!

    I’m so glad you were able to hear Jason speak at NYU. To learn more about measurement and its relationship to corporate social responsibility check out one of our Mission Measurement blogs, thenewcsr.com

    -Aneesa Arshad
    Mission Measurement


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

